The named giver
of our family association
Johann Daniel Bernbeck,
and his wife
Charlotte nee Schneider

Johann Daniel Bernbeck was born in Giessen on Nov. 12, 1757 and baptized there 2 days later. On the Gleiberg, where he was a parish priest, he married - on Jan. 17, 1786 - Charlotte Schneider, born on April 28, 1767 in Krofdorf as daughter of the British Capitain of the Royal Infantry George Schneider and his wife Caroline nee Lesch von Mülheim. The Lesch von Mülheim were a noble family which could trace its beginnings to the late 1200th. To them we owe our descent from many ruling houses of the early and middle Middle Ages.

Altogether, 13 children were born to this couple, among which 3 already died in their early or middle childhoods. Three sons remained single. Of them, Wilhelm Bernbeck, emigrated already 1831 to the USA where he died in Texas in 1837.

After the married children the Bernbeck Family is divided into 7 main tribes, which are numbered A - G. Later descendants then get a number appended according to the so-called modified Henry system).

Johann Daniel died at his home in Heuchelheim on July 1, 1825, to where he had transferred, upon his own request, as parish priest; he was also buried there. Afterwards, his widow Charlotte moved into the so-called "free house" on the Gleiberg where she died on Febr. 1, 1829 and was buried 2 days later.

© August 26, 2002
Otto G. Richter

Der Namensgeber
unseres Familienverbands,
Johann Daniel Bernbeck,
und seine Gattin
Charlotte geb. Schneider

Johann Daniel Bernbeck wurde geboren am 12.11.1757 in Gießen und 2 Tage später dort getauft. Am 17.01.1786 heiratete er auf dem Gleiberg - wo er Pastor war - Charlotte Schneider. Charlotte war die am 28.04.1767 in Krofdorf geborene Tochter des Großbritannischen Capitains der Königlichen Infanterie George Schneider und seiner Gemahlin Caroline geb. Lesch von Mülheim. Die Lesch von Mülheim sind ein uradliges (Raub-)Rittergeschlecht, dem wir die Abstammung von vielen regierenden Häusern des frühen und mittleren Mittelalters verdanken.

Dem Paar wurden insgesamt 13 Kinder geboren, von denen 3 schon im frühestens bzw. mittleren Kindesalter starben. Drei Söhne blieben ledig. Einer von ihnen, Wilhelm Bernbeck, wanderte bereits 1831 in die USA aus, wo er 1837 in Texas starb.

Nach den verheirateten Kindern wird die Familie Bernbeck eingeteilt in 7 Stämme, die mit A - G numeriert werden. (Weitere Nachkommen erhalten dann eine Nummer nach dem sog. modifizierten Henry-System.)

Johann Daniel starb am 01.07.1825 in Heuchelheim, wohin er auf eigene Bitte als Pastor versetzt worden war; dort wurde er auch beerdigt. Seine Witwe Charlotte verzog danach in das sog. "Freie Haus" auf dem Gleiberg, wo sie am 01.02.1829 starb und 2 Tage später auch beerdigt wurde.

©  21. August 2002
Otto-G. Richter